Pecan Crusted Sweet Potato Casserole

I went home for Thanksgiving and my mother is a huge fan of anything and everything maple, she is also a huge fan of sweet potatoes, so when I found this recipe it seemed pretty obvious that I should make it, especially since my family aren’t exactly into the whole “vegan,” lifestyle.  This also re-warms really well and makes a great dish for leftovers.

I found the original recipe here: Fat Free Vegan Kitchen, but I made a few adjustments to make it my own.

4 large sweet potatoes

2 Tbsp vegan butter of choice

1/4 cup soy creamer (I used silk)

1/4 cup orange juice

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

For the topping

1/4 Cup vegan butter of coice

1/2 Cup brown sugar, packed down

1/3 Cup unbleached white flour

3/4 Cups chopped pecans

2 Tblsp maple syrup

 

I started by choosing a casserole dish for baking, and preheating the oven to 350 degrees.

I placed the sweet potatoes in the microwave for about 13 minutes after stabbing each potato with a fork 4 times each.  After that, I took the skin off of the potato, after they are cooked like this, you can easily peel off the skin with your hands.

I then mashed in the butter with the sweet potatoes until it was to a nice smooth consistency and added in the rest of the ingredients, and stirred it all in.  I did all of this just in the casserole dish for less clean up.

For the topping I placed the pecans in my food processor on low for a few seconds until the pecans were chopped.  Then put the rest of the ingredients for the topping all together and spread it on top of the sweet potato mixture.

By now the oven should be preheated and I popped the casserole dish in the oven for 45 minutes.

 

The hardest part about this dish was waiting for it to cook for 45 minutes.  It tasted good, it was easy, and it makes good left overs, what more could you ask out of a thanksgiving dish?

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

