Cupcake Cones

Ice cream that doesn’t have to be kept in the freezer… what an idea.  I found an image on Vegan Yum Yum’s site but I couldn’t find the recipe, so I had to improvise on making these cones.

I bought vegan ice cream cones, made cake mix, frosting, and melted down Good Life chocolate chips to complete this dessert.

For the cake I used vanilla batter:

1 1/3 C unbleached sugar

1/2 C vegan butter or margarine (I use Earth Balance)

3 C any kind of unbleached flower

1 Tbsp baking powder

3/4 tbsp salt

2 C soy milk (or nut milk, whatever is your preference- I use 8th Continent Soy milk for almost everything)

1 Tbsp vanilla extract

1 or 1 1/2 tsp almond extract (optional, but I think it ads a lot to the batter)
I usually make a whipped frosting, but I wanted it to be able to hold the melted chocolate so I improvised…

Frosting

1 8oz package vegan cream cheese (I used Tofutti)

1/2 cup vegan butter or margarine melted (about 20 seconds in the microwave)

2 1/2 C powdered sugar (added to the mixture in intervals while whisking- if the frosting is not thick enough, add some more powdered sugar, depending on the brand of cream cheese you may need to add more).

1 1/2 tsp Vanilla extract

whisk together, slowly adding powdered sugar until the consistency desired is achieved.

*Note- to put the frosting onto the cones I used a gallon zip lock bag and cut off a small bit of one of the corners and made my own make-shift frosting decorator, this is easy to do and cheaper than buying cake decorating supplies if you’re not going to use it often.

Dipping chocolate

1 10 oz bag of Good Life dairy, soy, and nut free chocolate chips melted in a pan on low heat, mix continuously, heat slowly so the chocolate doesn’t burn.

Take a decorated cupcake in the cone with frosting on top and spoon chocolate over the top of the frosting.  Place the chocolate covered cone in your freezer for about 1 minute or until chocolate is completely hard.

Take the cupcake out of the freezer and serve.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 17:46:02

    These look so awesome. Did you have to find something to melt down the chocolate with like you have to with almond bark?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

