First Try Risotto

I’ve had Risotto before, but I’ve never actually made it from scratch.  The hardest part of making this dish was finding pearled barley and miso.  I got the recipe from Vegan Yum Yum.  I read this blog a lot, and recently bought the cook book… if you’re a vegan and haven’t checked it out, I highly recommend you doing so.

The bread I made from a simple bread recipe I’ve been making for ages.  It has whole wheat, flax meal, sea salt, raw sugar, olive oil, and water.  I toasted the bread with Earth Balance butter, olive oil, and minced garlic as a side to the risotto.
The risotto had the perfect combination of zesty and creamy.  I personally used 8th Continent original soy milk, bulk pearled barley, generic olive oil, white miso, sea salt, bulk nutritional yeast, 4 vine tomatoes blended in the blender on low for about 10 seconds, and one and a half cloves of garlic accompanied by dried basil and oregano.

This was a simple dish to go shopping for, I found everything at the local co-op and most ingredients could be found at any super market or grocery store.

Leave a Reply

