Eggless Egg Salad

I absolutely love Egg Salad, and just because I no longer eat eggs, doesn’t it mean that I can’t enjoy egg salad all the time.  The recipe is easy, and you may change most things out for your favorite egg salad mix-ins from your mom’s old recipe!

It’s pretty easy:

1 block of tofu, I used firm, because it’s what I had in my fridge, and because it keeps up some egg-like consistencies. Cut it into cubes, and I stir and mash it with a fork.

3 mini dill pickles, or 1 1/2 regular sized pickle (if you prefer relish you could use that as well)

3 small/medium (about 3 inches) celery stalks diced

1/2 tsp vinegar

1/2 tsp salt *

1/4 tsp black pepper

pinch of red pepper (optional I like spice)

1 tsp paprika *

1 tsp dill weed *

1 tsp sugar *

1/2 C nayonnaise (if you like your egg salad more soupy feel free to add in more)

2 tbsp yellow mustard (I usually put in about 1 1/2 tbsp of mustard, but most people don’t like mustard as much as I do, use your own judgement if you want more!)

*all of the spices you may put as much or as little in as you really like for the taste, I always end up tasting it and putting a little more of anything I think it needs- it also depends on how long you let the spices sit on the tofu, if you have time to season the mashed tofu for a few hours a lot of times it doesn’t take as much spice and herb seasoning.  Today, I let mine sit in the fridge for about an hour while I got ready.

I paired my lunch with last nights left over sugar snap peas, which made for a super fast comfort food lunch!

Leave a Reply

