Fast Dinner Night

So, I went out-of-town all weekend to Minneapolis, which has a plethora of vegetarian and vegan options in the city.  I had every intention of taking pictures of the food I got places, but it really wouldn’t have been that beneficial.  The friends I went out with are all very into their meats and cheeses, which is fine because I am always down to eat a salad and almost always have a Pure Bar on me (Pure Bars are awesome, if you’ve had a Larabar, it’s like that… but I think Pure Bars are the shit, Larabars are just easier to come by so I get those more frequently).  However, getting a salad with oil and vinegar on it at meals wouldn’t have been fun for anyone to look at or read.

I ate a lot of the vegan cupcakes and cookies I made for the road trip so wanted something light for dinner.

I got the main recipe for the sugar snap peas from Vegan Yum Yum’s Cookbook, I’m still working my way through the recipes in this book before I decide to start making some stuff on my own, since I love her blog so much- I again highly recommend anyone to look at it, even if you don’t eat a vegan lifestyle, she tries to stay away from only putting salad recipes up online, and it’s always kick ass to get new fun foods that aren’t lettuce when you’re a vegan.

You can check out the sugar snap peas on Vegan Yum Yum’s website or in her cook book.  I followed the recipe (black sesame seeds, sugar snap peas, water, corn starch, soy sauce, red pepper flakes, and agave nectar)  I added more red pepper flakes, simply because I dig spicy foods, and added about 1/4 C raw peanuts to give it some extra crunch and protein  for my meal.

I needed something extra to go along with the dinner I’d made, but because I didn’t want to piece a together a salad with a vegetable dish I took out a few organic kalamata olives.

Tomorrow I’m planning on putting together some eggless egg salad and cooked butternut squash cubes.  I have to figure out what I’m going to make for my college family thanksgiving!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 17:47:02

    Do you have to buy kalamtas in olive salads or can you find them sold alone?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

