Home Made Fries

Last night we had what I would consider a “faux-giving dinner.”  Because we all have a second family at school we have a school family thanksgiving.  Being a vegan and having friends that are not, I decided that mostly, I would make whatever I wanted to, because that would be the only real thing that I was going to eat.  I made golden potatoes cut into wedges, seasoned, and then baked.  I bought Tofutti sour cream and salsa to put on top of my potatoes, and personally I think it was delicious.  It was a complete comfort food, not necessarily the best thing for you, but it was excellent.

I know that the photos aren’t the best, but these were taken on my phone at dinner.  The potatoes may not look that good… or like potatoes at all, since they’re smothered in salsa and sour cream, but I can guarantee that they were yummy!

For the potatoes I used Golden Potatoes:

cut the potatoes into wedges

for each potato that you make add a teaspoon of vegetable oil to a skillet- I made 12 potatoes for the potluck, but for the recipe I will do it in a set of 3-

in the skillet add

a teaspoon of black and a teaspoon of white sesame seeds

1 tsp coriander powder

1/2 tsp cumin powder

salt and black pepper to taste

cut a lemon in half and squeeze one half of juice into the mixture

when the oil stops vigorously bubbling add in the potatoes

in the skillet fry up the potatoes, be sure to stir the potatoes into the oil so they are entirely coated, do not place the potatoes on the skin side so the whites can get brown.

after about 3-5 minutes on both whites side for the potato put the potatoes into a large pan with a tight lid.

put the potatoes into the oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes and then flip the potatoes to their other side, and return them into the oven for another 15 to 20 minutes.

Serve the potatoes immediately, I choose to get sour cream and salsa for mine, but a nice honey mustard dip or ketchup would be fitting as well!

Leave a Reply

