French Toast and Seitan Breakfast

This was om-nom-nom worthy, for sure.

The french toast flavor was absolutely delicious.  Most of this breakfast was made from left overs from other things that I made this week.  The bread was starting to get crumby and I didn’t want to take the time to make a better seitan sausage, so I improvised, and it worked out pretty well.

It’s hard to get my boyfriend to come over in the morning unless I offer gifts of free breakfast food, so I tried to make something that he could put syrup on- because he likes it way more than I do.

For the french toast I used 4 large slices of bread- if you’re using typical store bought bread this recipe may cover 5 to 6 slices, for home made bread that is a little thicker or texas toast this recipe will be for about 4 slices. (double or half the recipe depending on how many people you want to serve, it will still be just as good, I originally tried this with 2 slices)

French Toast:

4 large slices of bread

1/2 C pecans (I used raw pecans)

1/2 C water

6 Tbsp maple syrup

1/2 – 1 tsp vanilla extract

a pinch of salt

grated ginger (optional)

1 tsp cinnamon

In a food processor or high speed blender chop the pecans until they are chopped pretty fine.

Then add the water, syrup, vanilla extract, pinch of salt, and cinnamon to the mixture in the food processor.  Process the mixture on high for about a minute or until the mixture is smooth and creamy.

Coat the slices of bread in the mixture for about 5 minutes in a large bowl or dish

Put a small amount of oil on a skillet and put the slices of toast on the skillet for 1 to 2 minutes on each side, until golden brown.  Do not over crowd the skillet, do how ever many slices at a time your skillet will allow, but if they get too close they can start to cook to one and other and fall apart when you go to serve them.

On top of my french toast I put a little hint of powdered sugar, a few pecans, and a drizzle of maple syrup- but put any of your favorite toppings on the toast and serve immediately.

For the Seitan, I used the left overs from the wontons.  I used 8 oz of seitan cubed wheat protein.  I used the West Soy brand, it’s in a blue box (24 g a protein in one serving for 140 calories!- 2.5 servings in the 8 oz box)

I cut the seitan up and put it in a smaller skillet with olive oil.  I stirred the seitan to be sure it was entirely covered in oil.

1 clove chopped garlic

2 whites of a green onion (a few dices from the green if you would like)

1/2 tsp smoked paprika (more to flavor if you’d like)

salt and black pepper to taste

I fried this on low-medium stirring it to be sure it got evenly browned while I worked on the french toast.  You could fry it on medium for about 10 minutes, checking it and stirring it as needed.

Taste, and add any extra spices and oil you need for taste, and serve immediately

(owl coffee mug does not appear when meal is prepared)

It’s a delicious and protein packed breakfast for a Saturday morning- it’s a nice beginning to the day after Friday night ;)!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kinders
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 23:42:52

    YUMMMMMM!!!!!! This looks soooo good. You are such an amazing and innovative cook 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

