Baked Artichoke Dip

As the outsider misfit Vegan in a family full of post low-carb enthusiasts Thanksgiving isn’t exactly something to be mind-boggling excited about, or even remotely exciting.

So, I decided that I would try to make something that both non-vegans and I would eat.  Even though whatever I was bringing was the only thing that I’d be eating.  I decided to make a batch of baked artichoke dip with cashew parmesan and tofutti mozzarella.  No one realized that it was Vegan until my immediate family told the rest of them… I think it would have been more interesting to see how it would have turned out if no one knew, but I guess there’s always Christmas.

I bought a bag of baked scoop tortilla chips to use for dipping, but any choice chip could have worked out.  I was going to make some dehydrated chips, but the time got away from me.

(For spinach alternative see the note at the bottom)

I made a lot as a dish to pass, but if you are making the dip for yourself and not many people, you may want to half the recipe.

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.

For the artichoke dip I used:

2 8oz containers of Tofutti Cream Cheese brought to room temperature

1 cup of nayonnaise or your choice of mayo substitute

2 cloves of garlic

2 14 oz drained cans of artichoke hearts

salt to taste

1 1/2 tsp smoked or hot paprika

2 slices of tofutti mozzarella cheese

1 cup parmesan cheese (recipe below)

Parmesan Cheese:

1/3 heaping cup of nutritional yeast

2/4 heaping cup raw cashews

1/4 -1/2 tsp salt

place all ingredients into food processor and blend until well combined and powdered

Preparation

In a blender or food processor blend 2 drained cans of artichoke hearts and 2 cloves of garlic

In a mixing bowl add all of the ingredients and the processed artichoke hearts and garlic and mix together until it is smooth or at desired consistency.

Rip apart small pieces of the tofutti mozzarella and blend with the rest of the ingredients.

Place the mix into a medium to large-sized casserole dish

There will be excess parmesan cheese, sprinkle the rest on top of the dish along with sprinkles of paprika and salt for color and taste.

Place the casserole dish in the oven at 350 degrees and cook for 30 minutes, and then check.  My oven is a little slow so I put mine in for about 40 minutes.

Wait until the top is lightly brown and then serve with dipping chip of your choice.

Note: I didn’t put in spinach in the dip because the original recipe I played with didn’t call for it, but there’s no reason why you couldn’t do one can of drained spinach and one can of drained artichoke hearts for a more common spinach and artichoke dip, or 2 cans of spinach for just a spinach dip!

Leave a Reply

