Peanut Satay Tempeh with Green Beans and Brown Rice

Serves 2-4

Beware: I may add rambling narration through this post, because you really can throw these ingredients and make it your own.  Everyone likes a little something different.

This recipe… Well it was more of a non-recipe.  It is my last semester of college and I am taking my capstone class which has not allowed me to post as much lately (or not at all, who am I kidding) as I would like to.  Alas, I got an evening with free of advertising meetings the other night so I took advantage of it by making something quick, since I still had a lot of design to get done.  By the way, I graduate in 29 days… so if anyone knows of any jobs they want to tell me about, no would be a pristine time.  Now, enough with my shameless self plugs.  Let’s talk about FOOD!

The overall ingredients are pretty simple:

Instant brown rice

Peanut Butter (I used some raw peanut butter from my local co-op but whatever your choice will work just fine)

I had a bag of green beans in the freezer so it’s what I steamed up in a steamer bag, but fresh green beans would be even more nom-nom-ful (that means yummy.)

A little soy sauce

Peanut Satay if you have any on hand, or just add a little hot sauce with the peanut butter, it doesn’t have the same taste as typical Peanut Satay but it still tastes pretty good, I just had about a table-spoon left over from a previous recipe.

And lastly of course some tempeh, I used LightLife.

Steam your green beans (about 2 cups) whatever way you prefer to steam up your veggies.  Or you could just by a bag of frozen vegetables to steam if they’re not in season, you’re on a tight budget, or you just don’t feel like having extra steps in making your meal for the night!

Make 1 cup of brown rice.  I used instant, because I was on a time constraint, but any 1 cup of prepared rice you want to use, go for it.

I took the rectangle of tempeh and cut it into small squares.  I then began to warm them on medium low heat in olive oil with one tablespoon of peanut butter in my wok (a regular frying pan is totally cool too).  While my beans were a’ steaming and my rice was a’ simmering, I put about 1/4 cup of Original Light 8th Continent (it’s my personal FAVORITE, if you can find it) soy milk in the wok and put a frying pan lid into the wok to let the tempeh absorb some moisture so it isn’t as tough.  Some people prefer the typical texture of tempeh, so feel free to not add the soy milk and not steam the tempeh.

After the tempeh has began to warm up in the oil turn the heat to medium

add 1 tsp soy sauce / tamari (again, it’s all your preference, you’re the one whose going to eat it!)

add 1 tbsp peanut satay (I used Thai Kitchen brand, it’s at generally all whole foods and typical supermarkets, but as stated before you can add just a little more peanut butter and maybe a little sriracha sauce – then adjust the spice to your desired level… remember with spice to start off with a little, you can always add more, but you can’t take any of the heat away once it’s there.)

Heat the tempeh for about 5 minutes, being sure to stir and flip the squares to be sure not to burn it.

If you want some more crunch and didn’t use crunch peanut butter put some raw or roasted peanuts in with the rice!

I put the rice in a bowl, topped it with green beans, and some tempeh, but you could also throw all the ingredients in with the tempeh and coat it in the peanut sauce and treat the recipe as more of a stir fry.

I LOVE PEANUT BUTTER.  I will definitely be making this again, but I think I’m going to try it with seitan and broccoli or mixed vegetables next.

Happy nommin’.

Leave a Reply

