Savory Strawberry Oatmeal

For starters, I love oatmeal.  It’s probably my favorite food.  This is an extremely simple recipe- but it’s good when you only have a few minutes to make something delicious.

For one serving:

1/2 Cup Quick Oats (I used one minute kind… truly any kind of oat meal would do)

6 strawberries cut up

2 tsp brown sugar

1/2-1 Cup boiling water

1/4 Cup soy milk (add more or less as you like)

My roommates make fun of me, because I always make oatmeal the “easy,” way before classes in the morning… but you can feel free to prepare your oatmeal any old way you’d like.  I however follow these steps:

Boil water in a kettle

While that’s happening in a bowl I put in 1/2 Cup oatmeal

cut up 6 strawberries- more or less depending on general size of the berry

when the water in the kettle has boiled, I pour it into the quick oats and stir to desire consistency.

Put cut up strawberries, two tsp brown sugar, and soy  milk into the prepared oatmeal and stir and eat.

It only takes about 5 minutes, it’s a healthy delicious breakfast.

Sliced almonds would have been great to add some protein but I was out.

Nom Nom.

Leave a comment